myHanse.com - Hanse Yacht Owners Website myHanse.com - Hanse Yacht Owners Website myHanse.com - Hanse Yacht Owners Website myHanse.com - Hanse Yacht Owners Website

Welcome to myHanse.com the forum for Hanse Yachts owners throughout the world.

Forum Home Forum Home > Hints & Tips > 415/418
  FAQ FAQ  Forum Search   Events   Register Register  Login Login

Place to store a life raft

Post Reply Post Reply Page  12>
Author
Sub Lieutenant
Sub Lieutenant

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Miraculix Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Topic: Place to store a life raft
    Posted: 23 February 2021 at 10:50

Hello,

I’m new to this interesting forum. I ordered a 418 last summer, which will be launched and delivered end of March. So, I’m now busy collecting all the required equipment.

I’m a bit uncertain about the life raft and the best place to store. I see 3 possible storage places:

·       The after-locker on SB: more difficult to access during an emergency, in addition I have some doubts, whether there is sufficient space

·       The cockpit bench locker: would have to be pushed to the end, to make use of the remaining space. Is the height sufficient for this?

·       Mounting at the pushpit at the back: the space there is limited and is needed for other safety gear and the dinghy motor as well. In addition, it hampers manoeuvring in the harbour as it will be overhanging.

The space above the companionway is often used as well, but I don’t like this place as it hampers the view to the front and ventilation of the cockpit (if the sprayhood is lowered). In addition, the cabin roof could be a good, temporary place for an inflated dinghy.

I don’t have access to the boat yet and therefore cannot measure myself. Therefore I would appreciate if you could share your experience with this.

Frank

Miraculix, Hanse 418#169, Germany

Matt1 View Drop Down
Rear Admiral
Rear Admiral